Stout number 1

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Major Arcana

Reaction score
G'day Fellas,

As always thanks for all the advice, this site is effin awesome! :beerbang:

I am going to make up a stout next week and would love to get your thoughts, i have had a good read around the site and have a fair idea of what i want to get from it, seeing as this will only be my third home brew attempt i am still relatively new to it all. I am using basic kit and enhancer techniques at the moment.

Anybody tried Founders Breakfast Stout?? Effin Beautiful in my opinion, i know that is out of reach for me at the moment but i would love to get a nice coffee/chocolate/oatmeal hint happening in there if possible. I'm gonna be working with most of these ingredients plus im gonna go to the LHBS to get a few additions, what do you guys think?

1 x Black Rock Miners Stout
1x tin dark malt extract (this is out of date and was given to me free, i think i may turf it and get a new one)
1 x 500gm Dark DME
1 x 500gm Light DME
2 x saf 04 yeast
500gm lactose??
however much dextrose i need etc

How would i go about the coffee notes and perhaps an oatmeal and chocolate taste?

Way out of my league here, any advice would be greatly appreciated guys.

cheers,

Dan :icon_cheers:

I'd be looking at dropping the 500g of Dark DME and putting in 1kg of Light DME.
If you want to get some coffee/chocolate/oatmeal in there you'll have to do some steeping. Have you done that before?
I'd also be looking at add some dextrose. The yeast might struggle to get through all of that without the addition of some simple sugars to keep them going strong. If you added some dex to that recipe you'll be getting pretty high in alcohol.
Are you familiar with IanH's spreadsheet? Plug your recipe in there and see how its looking.

gsouth said: