Step Up To Ag

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lachlan

Reaction score
Good Morning Everyone,

AHB, what a great site. I stumbled across it a couple of months ago and the content is fantastic and everyone on here should be proud of what they are involved in. I have been doing partials for the last 6 months with alot of success. Over the last 3 weeks i have been researching AG and slowly preparing myself to make the step.
I purchased a 38L round cooler for my Mash Tun and i have a 20L SS pot for sparge water. I have been scouring the internet for a kettle, either SS or aluminium, lately i have been working to a budget thanks to the Reserve Bank and their helpful interest rate hikes anyway after all my research i see alot of you guys are using old 50l kegs that have been converted to a kettle.
Where do i get one?
What is the cost?
The next issue is heating the kettle, if i can't get my hands on a keg i will be buying a 50l aluminium pot from
http://www.cheflink.com.au/productcart/pc/...?idCategory=219

Can i get enough heat from the wok burner on my BBQ to effectively boil to kettle? at this stage my batch size will be 23L so the max amount in the pot to heat would approx be 34L (i think)
Any and all help will be much appreciated. :D

Thanks
Lachlan

If the keg has the brewery name stamped on it, then it always remains their property, they never release them. So regardless of whether you find it in a rubbish skip, buy it out of the paper, or steal it from the back of a pub in the dead of night, its all the same you are receiving stolen goods. Which you may well decide to do, many brewers have.

As far as I know the only legal kegs were available from here, not sure if they still are.

http://www.aussiehomebrewer.com/forum/inde...showtopic=19570