Steeping Grains

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dhal4

Reaction score
Hi guys. Im pretty new to brewing and was wondering if it would be technically possible to brew a beer from steeping, say 4kg or so of a speciality grain and 1kg of a malt extract to make up the difference. Would the brew turn out OK ?

Cheers

Dan

Hi guys. I'm pretty new to brewing and was wondering if it would be technically possible to brew a beer from steeping, say 4kg or so of a speciality grain and 1kg of a malt extract to make up the difference. Would the brew turn out OK ?

Cheers

Dan

Yes. It's called partial mashing, or mini-mashing depending on how much grain you use, personal preference etc...

If you search around for partial mash or partial mashing, you'll get some idea of techniques etc...

I did this for a number of years before switching to All Grain...

are we talking about steeping or mashing. steeping (ie only 30min or less in 60-70C water) of steep grains will taste a lot differant to mashing (60min in 60-70C water) of mash grains.

Ben I reocn he's thinking steeping tstuff like crystal, carapils etc rather than just small AG batches topped up with malt extract. I could be wrong.

technically possible to brew a beer from steeping, say 4kg or so of a speciality grain and 1kg of a malt extract to make up the difference. Would the brew turn out OK ?
Please correct me if I'm wrong, but won't that give you very little fermentable sugar extraction, but a lot of sweetness? I thought spec malts were mainly for colour and a little sweetness (?).

yeah i reckon, going by most of the specs on maximum amounts to use of certain specialty malts might end up turinig out a bit wierd

4kg of crystal will make a very black beer.

And the 20kg you would need to hit target gravity !? Well, you get the picture.