So What Is Your Next Equipment Project

Recently completed three new projects SS Mash Tun, Underletting Arm and Mill-house for my new Crank.

SS Mash Tun and Underletting Arm
SSMashTun01.jpg
SS false bottom and pickup
SSMashTun02.jpg

The SS Mash Tun was covered with loops of foam building barrier then wrapped in a vehicle windscreen sunshield and all taped up with duct tape. The lid was cut from 4" polystyrene foam and has two layers of aluminium foil glued over it. The base is also insulated with a circle of foam. The False Bottom is a 9" Domed Stainless from Grain and Grape plumbed in using 1/2" copper, the fitting and hose barb was removed from the false bottom and replaced with a copper elbow which protrudes to about 3mm from the bottom of the pickup well in the bottom of the Tun. Mash of 6Kg grist drops less than 1C over 90 min.

The underletting arm was made from food grade poly pipe. I gravity feed from the HLT, lifting out the arm after mash in giving it a couple of plunges and turns and all is done, no dough balls, very pleased with underletting.

Mill Housing for Crankandstein
Crank01.jpg
Mill Hopper
Crank02.jpg

The Mill-House is made of MDF with 6 coats of estapol to seal it. It's a copy of TidalPete's housing which I thought made perfect sense, it has positioning ring under the deck which fits neatly inside the top of a plastic Bunnings Handi Pail to catch the grist. The hopper is a U/S spring water bottle, holds around 7Kg of malt. Living close to the beach the mill base and housing configuration is small enough to store in a plastic bag sprayed inside with cooking oil to guard against rust.

Michael, love your work!, bigger photos would have been nice though. The mill housing looks like it would do a Chippie proud. I have recently finished off my mill and by that I mean ditching the drill to run it, fixing it to a table same as Ross's mill and fitting a 1/8HP motor with pulleys that run the mill at 190RPM. It works fantastic now. I've been gathering all the gear over the last few months and during my xmas break I will be building a proper single tier brewstand complete with march pump and nasa burner along with a new 50L HLT. I'm currently debating about whether or not to build a HERMS or just keep it simple as it is now, decisions....decisions.

Building a two tier system with individual stands to make it easier to move.

Now working on the HLT. Will be similar to the boiler in the picture.

IMG_0109a.JPG

Michael, love your work!, bigger photos would have been nice though. The mill housing looks like it would do a Chippie proud. I have recently finished off my mill and by that I mean ditching the drill to run it, fixing it to a table same as Ross's mill and fitting a 1/8HP motor with pulleys that run the mill at 190RPM. It works fantastic now. I've been gathering all the gear over the last few months and during my xmas break I will be building a proper single tier brewstand complete with march pump and nasa burner along with a new 50L HLT. I'm currently debating about whether or not to build a HERMS or just keep it simple as it is now, decisions....decisions.

Single Tier Brew Stand is my next project too Tony. TidalPete has all but finished his, and as to be expected it's pretty schmick, on casters so it's mobile. All I really need now is a stand and March Pump. Pete's also in the market, might have to see who would be in for a bulk buy and what we could get them for. Can't remember who organised the last one. Some bigger pics here that you can enlarge. Tried to keep the space down on my original post so used my images hosted by Photobucket.

Mill Crank01__Small_.JPG Mash TunSSMashTun01__Small_.JPGSSMashTun02__Small_.JPG

i would like to get a mill. installing a sight tube is on the list also.

Ive been working on a keg holder today (like a giant stubby holder :) ) Im still unsure how to inclose the top so any suggestions are welcome.

IMG_0306.jpg

What material are you using for the holder ? Did you want the top to hinge on ? If not you can just cut a circular piece of it and slip it in the top ??

I think I have figured out how to do the top now B)

It has 4 layers of 5mm Polystyrene and one 8mm layer as the outer, pretty easy to do and very cheap.

Hey Jye, where did ya pick up the Poly tube ?

Compliments of one of the members, this is my new little toy !
Just getting the taps and base sorted out.
I will do a test run with just the bottom tap installed,and the add the second tap. :D

Day_one_of_camera_038.jpg

Evening Jye, I doubt very much that you will need anything on top of the keg. But if you have to, just throw a couple of handfulls of ice on it when you get to where you're going too. :D

My next couple of projects:

1. Build a stainless steel mash paddle

2. Turn a 50L decomissioned keg into my new mash tun. Just got to work out what to insulate it with so I can heat the tun when doing decoction mashes! Any ideas of what kind of isulation to use?

M

Ive been working on a keg holder today (like a giant stubby holder :) ) Im still unsure how to inclose the top so any suggestions are welcome.

how about a circular section with a few pieces of velcro ?

Progress on my glycol system...

I probably should have posted this in here..

Take a look, tell me what you think.

Link Here

I just rearranged the brewery stand and brought all the vessels, bar the heat exchanger, onto the one level

I have a few big plans that i will be carrying out soon

1. build a metal stand/frame

2. Change the pipe work around and use tri-clover fittings and butterfly valves for everything post-boil (whirlpool, chiller, Cyl.con. fermenter)

3. discard my old (new) mash tun and build a new one with a SS jacket to run hot liquor through to keep the temp up rather than re-circulating. re-circ will be for clarifying only, jsut before sparging.

going to double the cost of my brewery but well worth it i think.

Going the bling, bling Ash :huh:
I'd imagine the tri-clover fittings will set you back a pretty penny.

I am having a mate weld a 1/2 SS socket to my kettle for a ball valve. I am so tired of siphoning and having the siphon either fall into the wort or loosing suction. Its amazing what gets me excited these days :rolleyes:

Cheers, JJ