Safe to leave in the fermenter?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TK1

Reaction score
Hi,

Complete novice here. Stuffed up my first batch, second one seems to have gone fine (Brewcraft Little Critters Pale Ale).

It stopped bubbling Sunday night, so today or tomorrow should be safe to bottle (assuming hydrometer reading is constant). But given I am flat out at work, not sure if I'll get to bottle until late in the week or even the weekend unless reapply necessary.

Is it safe to leave in the fermenter for a few extra days? Will this have any side effects (go flat, taste, etc)?

Hope the question isn't too stupid - couldn't find any answers in book I have or a quick search here.

Thanks,
Darren

I think most people on here leave it in the FV for two to three weeks.

OK, found the FAQ above my post (didn't see that before - d'oh) and it confirmed I can safely leave it for a couple of weeks. Glad I could help (myself)! :)

Sent from my HTC_PN071 using Tapatalk

Yeah mate, totally fine to leave for a couple of weeks. I don't test anything until at least 10 days have past. Most of my brews stay in the fermenter for 2 weeks minimum.

JD

Your brews will be better off if you leave them for longer in the fermenter. Mine are always in for 2 weeks minimum

I've recently started leaving mine for three weeks for the last few brews. Two weeks at 18ish, then one week cc'd at around zero. Not sure the cooling part really requires an entire week, but easier for me to bottle and clean at the weekend rather than mid week.

I have a brew in the FV at the moment that has been in there for 38 days so far (and will probably be in there for another day or two while I clean bottles). So far so good.