Refill Co2

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mattcarty

Reaction score
hi there

sorry if this Q has been posted before im a newbie to the site.

I recently was involved in renting a space in the city that was formerly a night club, when we cleaned the area out and got it up to scratch for our venue we discovered an old BOC Food Grade CO2 bottle that was left there by the previous night club renters (circa 2004!)

I assume they used this on there kegs and I am wondering is there anywhere I could get this filled up in SA and use on my keg setup or is it likely that wherever I take it they will say hmmm this is too old better if we take this off ya hands. The last tested date on the bottle is 2004

any ideas?

Cheers
Carty

It's within test date, but being a BOC bottle you're unlikely to find anywhere to fill it for you that won't take it back - they're rented.

As Leathal corpse said. They will soon work out that you dont have an account with them.

Just start renting, convert a fire extinguisher (not what i recommend)

or my option. mykegonlegs.

You can always have a talk to the guys at ceasefire contact details in this post here

Don't know if they will do a boc bottle, but can always ask them.

cooleo thanks for that guys, if anyone has any other tips please let me know, in the meantime i will check in with the guys from ceasefire

cheers
carty

DrSmurto's last Q in that thread was about the same thing

PM him, im sure he'll have the answer.

The way it is;

You can't get it refilled, BOC do a swap deal and you must have an account to do this. You will start an account and get your first bottle. You pay for the gas plus there is a yearly rental per bottle after you start the account, about $100 per year, depending on bottle size. If you loose a bottle, the cost is about $800.