Reducing Bottle Sediment?

Daawl

G'day one & all

I have a challenge ahead of me.

I will be going on an outdoor/camping weekend at the end of May & we don't really have the money to buy mega swill ( & I don't really want to).

I was going to go PET but then I would have to watch them to make sure they don't end up in the bfire or trash, so I am just going to pick up the approriate no of stubbies from the recycling station therefore it dosn't matter if they get lost.

I wish to reduce the amount of sediment as the bottles are obviously not going to be sitting in a fridge but chucked around in an esky. I know I can be gentle but the eskies are usually shared and not everyone will have the same concerns etc. I thought this would lead to a completly cloudy yeast laced beer.

In short, besides racking & CC which I have started to do anyway

Is there other ways to reduce sediment???

I am not fanatic about losing all of the sediment/yeast. Usually by the third glass of a longie it gets a little cloudy which I don't mind.

G'day one & all

I have a challenge ahead of me.

I will be going on an outdoor/camping weekend at the end of May & we don't really have the money to buy mega swill ( & I don't really want to).

I was going to go PET but then I would have to watch them to make sure they don't end up in the bfire or trash, so I am just going to pick up the approriate no of stubbies from the recycling station therefore it dosn't matter if they get lost.

I wish to reduce the amount of sediment as the bottles are obviously not going to be sitting in a fridge but chucked around in an esky. I know I can be gentle but the eskies are usually shared and not everyone will have the same concerns etc. I thought this would lead to a completly cloudy yeast laced beer.

In short, besides racking & CC which I have started to do anyway

Is there other ways to reduce sediment???

I am not fanatic about losing all of the sediment/yeast. Usually by the third glass of a longie it gets a little cloudy which I don't mind.

Finings a day or so before bottling, filtration as you rack, or you could try inverting the bottles to get all the sediment near the cap, freeze the top centimeter or two and open the bottle, the slug of frozen beer/sediment will pop out and you can re-cap. This is how they get sediment out of champagne bottles.

Farnk

Thanks for the hints.

Will probably go the finings.

At this stage I am not that hung up about reducing the sediment that much to go to the trouble of freezing the top of a bottle (unsure how that would be done anyway).

Unfortuatley don't currently have the dosh for a filter. About to replace fridge & freezer so SWMBO has knocked back any further expenditure on the brewery until further notice. (I see another fermentation fridge though :D )

Once again cheers

Daawl