Recipes

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

marca85

Reaction score
Hi ALL,

Im new to brewing and have only brewed with the kits so far but am looking to add a couple more ingredients like a little bit of grains and/or some hops. Had a look through the recipes on AHB but a lot of them dont give a detailed method.

Was wondering if anyone out there has had some success with some recipes that they might want to share? (with methods) I prefer ales but am open to anything.

Cheers

Marca

A simple improvement on the standard k&k would be to add a few hundred grams of specialty malt like crystal malts or the likes, a bit of finishing hops and a dcent yeast. For a Pale Ale, I'd grab the tin of goo & something like BE2 or 1kg light dry malt, say 2-300g Pale Crystal Malt, and 1g/L of finishing hops thrown in the fermentor after a few days fermenting (for a Pale Ale I'd go for something like Cascade as a start) & Safale US-05 yeast.
The grain is pretty easy to prepare, get the hbs to crack it for you, steep it in some hot (65-75c) water for 20-30 mins, strain and add the liquid to the boil pot & boil it for 15 mins to kill the nasties along with your other sugars. Rest is the same, you can throw the hops into the boil if you want to for a few mins, or straight into the fermentor, the later will give you more aroma.

A simple improvement on the standard k&k would be to add a few hundred grams of specialty malt like crystal malts or the likes, a bit of finishing hops and a dcent yeast. For a Pale Ale, I'd grab the tin of goo & something like BE2 or 1kg light dry malt, say 2-300g Pale Crystal Malt, and 1g/L of finishing hops thrown in the fermentor after a few days fermenting (for a Pale Ale I'd go for something like Cascade as a start) & Safale US-05 yeast.