Recipe Suggestions ?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

zabond

Reaction score
G'day all, I've just been given-1 can COOPERS dark ale,500grm dark malt powder,1kg light malt powder,1kg COOPERS #2 brew inhancer,750 grm dextrose,1 pkt Brew cellar "english ale yeast",as a total newbie any sugestions for a good recipe?[I do like dark english style beers & stouts,if that helps]I've got 2 fermentors and other basic gear but there is no LHBS in my area to buy extra ingrediants,sorry to ask such an open questions but my only experience so far was a nice alco GingerBeer.I can remember from many years ago there was a site where you could put in your ingredients and it would tell you what style of beer would be produced[think it may have been BJ's or somthing]but cant find it now :angry:
thanks Russ

Try the coopers web site for some ideas, I found this one that sounds ok, http://www.coopers.com.au/homebrew/makeBee...d=5&bid=112 If you are willing to give some grain and hops a go I would chuck maybe 300g choc malt and the kilo of LDME, finish off with some fuggles hop pellets, bout 20g. You can get some more supplies mailed to you through the sponsers up the top of this site

+1
There are a few excellent mail order brew shops operating around Australia. Postage for hops, yeast, etc is very affordable, probably cheaper than the petrol you might spend driving to your physical LHBS!

You could try the can of DARK ALE, 500g dark malt, Coopers #2 enhancer and use the english yeast.

To improve things a lot, order some good yeast (try S-04 for english style ales) and perhaps some crystal & choc malt. The malt only needs to be "steeped" for 30mins in 76C water, sieved, boiled for short time and added to the mix.

Choc malt adds a wonderful toffee, nutty flavour to dark ales and stouts... yummy!!

Good luck...