Questions To All The Fly Guys Outt There

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Banshee

Reaction score
I fly sparge and just want to clear a few things up.
Question:

1. I always leave the grain floating and leave at least an inch of hot liquor above the bed, even till the end of sparge. Is this correct? Do you run the bed dry at the end or leave floating always?

2. How much water do you sparge with? Do you sparge to final batch volume and then top up kettle with water for evaporation or do you run till final kettle volume is reached?

3. Alternatively do you finish sparge according to run off SG? Dark beer finish at low SG. Pale beer slightly higher SG.

Thanks FLY guys.

i see what you did there. pretty fly for a white guy would have been better.

I'm no expert but this is what we do

1. Run Dry, don't know if this is right or wrong.

2. Run til kettle preboil volume is reached, our evap and losses are very consistent now.

3. Generally monitor SG towards the end for curiositys sake but don't normally get to low.

Efficiency is for 1050ish beers is 80%+ (84% this afternoon).

Cheers

Adam

Question:

1. I always leave the grain floating and leave at least an inch of hot liquor above the bed, even till the end of sparge. Is this correct? Do you run the bed dry at the end or leave floating always?

The same but I run dry.

2. How much water do you sparge with? Do you sparge to final batch volume and then top up kettle with water for evaporation or do you run till final kettle volume is reached?

Know my system well enough to end up with correct volume and gravity.

3. Alternatively do you finish sparge according to run off SG? Dark beer finish at low SG. Pale beer slightly higher SG.

Thanks FLY guys.

No longer, use salts for mash PH adjustment

Screwy

Question:

Thanks FLY guys.