Punkin's Allgrain Brewery

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

punkin

Rarely Serious
Reaction score
Hoping i can show someone how simple it really is to set up for allgrain brewing. Luckily i had nearly all the gear i needed for my other hobbies and there was little i had to do besides some reading and a little work making manifolds and immersion chillers etc...

The end result is beer that is light years ahead of the Kit and Kilo i've been brewing for the last thirty years, for around the same price per keg. The only thing i regret is that i hadn't converted over years ago.

I start with a Brewmate recipe and brewday sheet. I convert the recipes from some of the database reicpes here (this ones a Smurto Golden) and just scale up with the software. This is so simple and tells you all the targets you have to meet, how much water at what temp for how long ect.

Then crack the malts with my Crankenstein mill...

mashpaddle1.jpg

18 odd kilos of grain for this batch fills a couple of twenty litre buckets..

grains2.jpg

I have a 50l beer keg on a 3 ring burner that i use for other projects. This is my hot water kettle. It helps with the water heating that i have run an insulated line from the solar hot water system before the temper valve into my brew shed. I start with water anywhere tween 65 and 90C...

boiler21.jpg

I use graduated buckets and a floating thermometer to get my strike water right with near boiling water mixed with hot or cold water to extend the range of my 50l kettle...
In this case 3 x 15l's and an 8l has me dead on...

Add the water and grain to a large 120l esky that i had and made a manifold for using John Palmers calculations..

manifold2.jpg

This shot is actually during the sparge where there's 75l of sparge water added, but you get the idea.

mashtun3.jpg