Protein Rest With Galaxy Malt?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

clay

Reaction score
I'm planning a brew tomorrow with pretty much 50/50 Marris Otter and Galaxy and was thinking of a short protein rest at 52*C to try and get rid of the chill haze I always seem to get.

Is this a good idea with Galaxy? I've never used it before (or done a protein rest for that matter).

cheers
clay

I wouldn't think Galaxy would be the cause of your chill haze problem!? I use it quite a lot and never had any haze issues.

dunno about the galaxy but i've read that a short protein rest helps haze problems with MO

From recent experience I would just for the MO alone!
There's a real problem with this malt at the moment. <_<
Dont think I'll be bothering with it anymore.
As for the galaxy I've never encountered any problems with it.

Cheers
BB

"protein rest at 52*C to try and get rid of the chill haze I always seem to get."

Are you boiling the bum out of the wort??

I mean a good strong rolling boil (50mm+ leaps from the wort), since you mentioned you ALWAYS have haze issues...

A soft boil/simmer will cause haze issues too

Not knowing how you are set up but if you want a 50 step for the Marris Otter using infusion mashing what about:
Just MO in tun first.
Add water at right ratio and temp for pro rest for MO only.
Rest
A balance of malt (Galaxy)
Add more water at right temp and ratio to raise for main mash step.
Rest
Then carry on as norm.

- Luke

Thanks for the replys guys.

Linz, Yes I do boil the bum out of it (though I've only done a handfull of AGs)

Luke, your suggestion may be the way to go.

Cheers all

Are you sure its chill haze and not some other sort of haze? I have had tannin haze from MO before.

Berp.