Problem with latest brew

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Toastie

Reaction score
Hi guys, im relatively new to brewing, still on the basic kits but am now starting to play around with steeping grains and some hop additions as well and the last 3 that ive done have come out really nice.

Anyhow, the batch ive currently got in the fermenter doesn't smell right or taste right. Its been in there just over a week now, and the fermentation has been a lot different to all other brews ive done.

Here is what ive made:

Coopers Real Ale can + kit yeast
1kg Light Dry Malt
200g Cara Amber & 300g Light Crystal, steeped in 2L hot water for 30 mins then boiled for 30 min

I put the steepings in the fermenter & added the LDM, 1.5L boiled water & Real Ale can, everything well mixed in & water topped up to 23L, temp was 22 degrees & pitched the yeast. OG was 1043 before adding the yeast.

After 24 hours it had the largest krausen ive ever had, at least 4 inches thick. I don't have temp control but its been cold here & temp gauge showed the wort being around 18 degrees.

After 48 hours krausen completely subsided, I thought this was a bit weird as I had used a Coopers Aust Pale Ale can for the previous brew which had similar temps and took prob 6 days for the top krausen to subside.

Its now been in the fermenter for 9 days, and I thought id check the gravity, which was around 1012. I know its green, but it did not smell right or taste right. I took the lid off for a stickybeak & ive added a pic of what it looks like. You can see theres a big clump of what I assume is dead yeast there which is something I haven't seen before.

So is this an infection? Will it improve with more time in the fermenter? I normally leave it in the fermenter for 2 weeks, should I leave it for longer? Or is it rooted? IMG_2222.JPG