Practicing with new kegs until brews are ready

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

carniebrew

Brewvy baby, brewvy!
Reaction score
My 3-tap kegerator should arrive tomorrow, the little Pinnacle/keg king style jobbie that fits 3 cornies....complete with Perlick 545PC flow control taps and a full 6.8kg co2 bottle. Oh and 4 kegs, figured having a spare wouldn't hurt.

Problem is, I won't even start brewing my first beer to put in these kegs until this weekend (a Kolsch), given I've been away over new years and the decision to buy a kegging setup all happened pretty quick.

So, what else can I do with these kegs in the interim? The Kolsch won't be ready to keg for nearly 3 weeks, and it'd be good to get some practice with kegging given I'm completely new to it. I've got 3 young kids, should I fill a keg with water and carbonate it, then they can put some cordial in a cup and pour cold soda water on it for a fizzy drink? My eldest was asking for non-alcoholic apple cider the other day (or fizzy apple juice as he put it), is that as simple as pouring apple juice in a keg and carbing it up? Will that taint the new seals up like I hear soft drink does, or is that only 'coz it's concentrate?

Any other thoughts?

Soda water sounds like a good choice for one keg, and can't see why the appletise wouldn't taste good. I've never noticed any carry over taste in my kegs from ciders. One thing I'd do is put a co2 charge in all your kegs while empty and check the pressure via the relief valve over a few days to make sure they all seal well.

Definately go for the soda water, goes well with most quality spirits. I also find I drink more water when I have soda water on tap, and wake up with less hangovers.

I personally wouldnt use juice... But soda water is always good for that 'i need a beverage' feeling at 9am.