Over Priming Issue

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sic_vl

Reaction score
Hi All
im still new to home brewing, only been doing it a few months & loving it.
I usually use cabonation drops to prime the bottles. on the weekend when i was bottling I ran out of the drops. So I used sugar for the remaing bottles in the batch. I was doing a batch in 375ml bottles, I put a teaspoon in each bottle. yesterday when i was doing a bit of reading i learnt that im only ment to put 1/2 a teaspoon in each bottle, I basicly got the measurements mixed up.
so I took the lids of all the bottles and put them back in the heat box. After thinking a little last night about this i thought i may be able to leave the lids off for a week then let the sugar in there ferment out then re prime them with the correct amount, would any one recommend this? or have a ruined them?
any advise would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Michael

I'm not sure if a teaspoon per 375mL bottle is too much or not.

I've got no idea how to recover this batch if it is overcarbed apart from gently pouring them back into the fermenter carefully to let them ferment out. I wouldn't leave the lids off for a week though.

I'm no help at all but at least I bumped yr thread.

Thanks for that. I might try my little theory any way, since ive probably reuined it any way. Atleast i know that im not going to make that stupid mistake again.

Thanks for that. I might try my little theory any way, since ive probably reuined it any way. Atleast i know that im not going to make that stupid mistake again.