Organic Hops In Melbourne (where Are They?)

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

moonshine

Reaction score
Hello AHB

I've been looking to brew some a/g lager now the weather is cooling down a bit (haven't got a fridge in the brewery yet)

Anyhow have been looking for organic hops, found that gng can get some, but only in 5kg lots, was wondering if anyone knew of anywhere else to get smaller amounts (failing that i think i'll have to organise a bulk bye as 1kg is probably all i can afford)

i've lost the quote but it was about $450 quite cheap considering...

if there was interest and i couldn't find them in smaller amounts elsewhere would think about getting both the hallertau and the pacific gem. Although i've never used the gem before so would be interested in what other people's experiences regarding this hop were.

Cheers

(1st post)

Whats wrong with normal hops?

By all accounts even breweries that are organically certified can use up to 5% non organic raw materials and that usually equates to their hops as it is hard to get a consistant supply.

Kleiny

nothings wrong with conventional hops (apart from the fact that there grown with the aid of a bunch of poisons)

and i fully intend on continuing brewing with them (while i can't get a hold of organic hops in the varieties and amounts i need)

but i thought it would be nice to brew a WHOLLY organic beer.

How're you getting the poisons out of the water?

I like organic too, but drink alcohol, so must put things in perspective?

Edit spelling - either too much alcohol or not enough organics!