Old Yeast - Slow Starter

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JEM Australia

Reaction score
Hi there,

9 months ago I bought a tube of WLP German Lager Yeast. I made a big starter for my brew, but kept a couple of samples.

I used those vacuum seal preserving jars which I boiled for 15 mins, filled with boiled water and let cool (ie did my best with hygiene).

I pulled out the last one on Thursday night and made a starter. I took about 30 hours to crank up (room temp has been about 18 degrees during the day because of the rain here in Brisbane).

It smells OK (not sulphur but it is at room temp), and only has a very very thin layer of foam on it.

Has anyone used a yeast sample this old before? If I need to abandon it and go get a dry yeast, I have 3 hours before the HBS shuts.

JEM

I'm no expert on the matter, but I think it will be fine, but you will probably have to build it up which could take a while. If your planning to brew this weekend it might be wise to go to the HBS. I guess it depends how big your sample was that you put away. I think usually with lagers you want to build up a 2-3L starter. Come to think of it, even if you do go the HBS to get more, you will still have to spend a couple days building up a starter...

It shouldn't be a problem but as sammus suggests it may take longer then 30 hours to get a krausen.
I would expect 2-3 days at least if it's that old.

I 've read that one should allow the starter to ferment out prior to to splitting it. This way the cells have enough nutrion to survive a long time storage.

If you did split the starter during high krausen the yeast may take a bit longer because the cell count maybe a bit smaller.

If you see foam I think you are safe.
matti