Oats

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

smcc3573

Reaction score
I have been brewing now for 2 years only AG, mostly successful but with a few that have gone straight down the plughole. I recently have been trying the East Coast IPA style and my first attempt also was a failure. It seems every time I use oats in my grain bill I get this really stringent acidic flavour almost like putting your tongue on a battery. I have tried 3 recipies all with different grain, yeast and hops but each time oats goes in this happens. My questions are, should I be using malted oats or regular? I am typically mashing at 68 is this correct and is there anything else I should be doing when having oats in the bill to stop this from happening.

Thanks in advance

IF you aren't using malted or crystal oats you need to be thinking of doing a step mash, a Glucan and Protein rest are probably a good idea.
With malted oats you need to be very careful with your milling, they are so thin they will go straight through the mill untouched and wont add anything to your brew, I always crush malted oats at less than 0.25mm.
As for the flavour, that's not a problem that I have encountered, tho Oats can if stale have an acrid sort of rancid oil flavour.
Mark

Try uncle Toby's quick oats instead of malted, loads here use them in oatmeal stout recipes.

18l6ir.jpg

A.B. said:
Try uncle Toby's quick oats instead of malted, loads here use them in oatmeal stout recipes.
i use the cheap as chips home brand rolled oats, they work a treat and are about $1 for a 750 gm pack!

That sound like astringency from polypheonols/tannis and is probably not related to your oats.

The most common culprits for astringency are:

1) sparging too hot
2) PH too high
3) oxidised hops (beta acids become bitter and harsh)