Noobiest Of Noob Question

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

muthead

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'd like to preface this by saying I have searched but couldn't find an answer!

I'm relatively new to the brewing game, have just got my fridge and stc-1000 sorted, have done a fair few brews so am not a complete noob, but I keep hear people talking about Cubes.

My question - whats the difference between a fermentor & a cube?? And what would a Cube be used for?

Cheers,
Mut

Its a 20L water drum. Most of them are cube shaped.

Hi all,

I'd like to preface this by saying I have searched but couldn't find an answer!

I'm relatively new to the brewing game, have just got my fridge and stc-1000 sorted, have done a fair few brews so am not a complete noob, but I keep hear people talking about Cubes.

My question - whats the difference between a fermentor & a cube?? And what would a Cube be used for?

Cheers,
Mut

cubes are cheap plastic carboys used for drinking water, for camping and stuff.

people use them in place of fermentors quite often. they can be cheaper and sometimes easier to clean and they are more efficienct in shape vs volume than a carboy so work well in space-limited breweries.

also people have less of an attachment to them over fermentors, so it's psychologically easier to throw them out if you suspect infections, etc.

A cube is a willow plastic jerry can . It is used for no chill and as a fermentation vessel . No chill is when you pour the hot wort from the boil kettle straight into the cube and let it cool overnight before pitching the yeast and or storing the wort for a period of time until one is ready to pitch the yeast .One can then either pour the cooled wort into a fermentation vessel or use the cube to ferment in .DOH beaten to the punch .

cheers
Leachim