Newbie Questions

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

skramp_84

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am new to this site and to home brewing. I am a qualified chemist and would eventually love to start my own micro brewery. So I thought what better place to learn about beer and brewing than with homebrews. I am starting off with kits and working my way up, as I want to completely understand the process from all angles.

My first brew was a Tooheys Lagar kit made as per instructions-the result was beer! Plain ordinary beer, nice head but nothing really special and a fairly tinny after taste. Its more of a "ill have a few after ive had a few others". For my next brew I would love to make something of a cross between LCPA and a corona. Something slightly Citrusy but with that great mango flavour. I dont have a fridge as yet so can't rack and only have one fermenter. I ferment in my shed which maintains a temp of about 24 degress at the moment.

The other beer I really like at the moment, I believe is called James Squire "Vintage ale". Can anyone recomend an imitation to this also?

One more thing, I understand it is possible to use liqures for priming, is it also possible to use liqures as a sugar in the fermenter? If so, how much of the flavour carries through to the beer and how much do people use?

Thanks in advance everyone for any help,
Daniel

Welcome,

Few quick tips from me:

-There's a whole bunch of sticky topics in the forums that discuss some of the most common questions for new brewers, do some light reading of them without swarming yourself.

-The tinny taste usually comes from old/partly stale malt extract. The key with kit/extract brewing is to get the freshest kits and freshest malt extract available.