New to kegging

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bradgc

Reaction score
Hey,
I'm new to brewing and kegging.
Previously I've bottled but I just bought a keg and fridge system.

My question about kegging, once my beer is ready in the fermenter, do I just pour it straight into the keg? Then do I prime the keg and condition it for 10 days like I would a bottle?

I just need simple steps from fermenter to serving from the keg.

Cold crash in fermenter, move to keg (gently, with hose from tap of fermenter) then set to 12 psi and leave for 2 weeks. Good to go.

Alternatively hook up at 30 for 2-3 days and then relieve pressure and sial back to 12 and you'll be ready.

Another option is to look at the "Ross method" to have it ready in a few minutes. Or get a carbonation stone to speed things up.

By far the easiest and most reliable is to set at serving pressure and leave it.

No need to prime if you are force carbing with kegs

Forgot to mention, make sure to balance length of beer line vs pressure vs temperature, there is a table somewhere if you search!

I am assuming that with your keg system there was a bottle of c02 and a c02 regulator and fittings to suit the gas side of things.

if this is the case, all you need to do is transfer the fermented beer into a clean and sanitised keg with minimal splashing, I personally syphon this through a silicone food grade hose, you DO NOT want to just pour it in as it will oxidise the beer and you will end up with a keg full of cardboard flavoured shit beer.

Once you have completed the slow and careful transfer, you then purge the air out of it by connecting the gas line to the keg and then releasing the pressure relief valve a few times over a minute or two.