New Ag Setup Construction

i look at that and think of those houses you see on the coast that colapse when the coast erodes away.

they look like toys falling off a table.

that with 100 + liters of hot liquid on it could be scary but i could be wrong.

http://www.brewzilla.nl/?hi

check this out and scroll through through some of the most awsome AG rigs in the world.

a lot of them are timber and the common denominator seems to be "big timber"

I could be wrong........ your frame might be strong as hell........... im not knocking it.

I just dont want to find out you go burnt cause the frame colapsed and lots of hot liquid lifted your skin.

timber_frame_edit.JPG

Thanks for the info browndog but am a little confused check the picture for where the addition bracing needs to be

Hi Archie, looking at your pic there, where the arrows are pointing on the right, it goes in and stiffens up those legs, if that is still a bit suss, use cross bracing at both ends and in the middle. To test this stand, I want you to put some sort of sheeting on it so you can get on top of it and do the funky chicken, if it doesn't give any, then I reckon it is safe to brew on mate. As Tony said, most stands are done in 4" by 2" and 3" by 2".

Thanks for all the input and yes i had already jumped on top of it and jumped up and down it seems really sturdy but i am going to do some more today so will post images of what i have done

Archie :super:

Hi Archie,

How are you going to deflect the heat ?

Yard

Hi Archie,

How are you going to deflect the heat ?

Yard

Hey Yardy,
The heat wont be too much of a problem as thhis entire system will work of electric elements.
So I am hoping that there wont be to much need to deflect heat.

Arch

Aahhh...... No probs then, are you going to use a large tile or similar as a base for the kettle etc ?

Yard

Aahhh...... No probs then, are you going to use a large tile or similar as a base for the kettle etc ?

Yard

I was going to use some copper sheeting so as to keep with the old style brewery appearance.

Nice idea, look fwd to the finished pics, appreciate it if you'd post the price of the sheeting when you find out.

Yard

Okay well here is what i have managed to complete today, slowly but surely.
Thoughts ???

oh yeah i forgot to add all the timber was from the tip haha all recycled timber $15 bucks not bad hey

Cheers Archie
:party:

Daytyime_brewstand.jpg

night_saved_brewstand.jpg

Gday everyone,
Thought i would quickly post an update for those of you who are interested on my new AG Brew Rig.
Got a bit done today finished the temp control unit for the HLT well nearly just have to mount it and finish of some mains wiring but its all coming along really well plumbed the mount outlet for the hlt and also the element and backup anologue temp gauge.

Ran a test today with around 40 litres of tap water and it wasnt to bad heated it to 72' celcius in 53 minutes not to bad i guess.
Still need to add in my water filters will keep it posted

Thoughts ???

Cheers Archie

:chug:

100_3445.jpg

100_3446.jpg

100_3447.jpg

i look at that and think of those houses you see on the coast that colapse when the coast erodes away.

they look like toys falling off a table.

that with 100 + liters of hot liquid on it could be scary but i could be wrong.

http://www.brewzilla.nl/?hi

check this out and scroll through through some of the most awsome AG rigs in the world.

a lot of them are timber and the common denominator seems to be "big timber"

I could be wrong........ your frame might be strong as hell........... im not knocking it.

I just dont want to find out you go burnt cause the frame colapsed and lots of hot liquid lifted your skin.

Just viewed the worlds most out of this world rigs and I must say I am almost speechless. Makes my set-up look like something from jurasic park. :eek: :eek:

Cheers BYB