My First Ag....what Should I Brew?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pokolbinguy

The Pokolbin Brewhaus and Winery.
Reaction score
G'day folks,

Alright so once I get my hands on some washers (that Batz was kind enough to offer me) things should be ready to finally do my first AG.....given something doesn't break before I finally get to use it.

So I am after a simple recipe that will give me a half decent beer...taking into account I have never done this before.

Also any simple instructions you can give me that might help would be great, I plan on doing a bundle of reading of things I have read in the past to get myself back up to speed but suggestions are always welcome.

One Q i have though is if I "no chill" do I just put the wort from the kettle straight into a cube or similar and then push all the air out????

Anyway thanks in advance for any help,

Cheers, Pok

P.S off to work on my fermenting fridge so I can get the sucker up and running.

What do you like to drink?

I did a simple American Brown Ale for my first AG, it had a straightforward grain bill with a couple of hop additions. I was aiming for a forgiving flavour profile. Any simple recipe will do really, and there are plenty of them around.

Apart from the advice I got here and from my fellow IBUs, I relied on John Palmer's How To Brew to guide me through the process. If you are no chilling read Cortez the Killer's excellent article in the wiki.

My brown ale was delicious and the process was very satisfying.

cheers

grant

Brew whatever the hell you like! It's a good time for Belgians too, with these temps right?

My first AG was a porter, which after I forgot about evaporation, turned into a very robust porter. F...ing beautiful.

My 2 cents, have a Safale yeast on hand as a backup, if you're using liquid yeast.