My Beginers Advice

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brettule

Reaction score
I'm still a brewing noob, I'm onto my 4th batch now and I'm only comming to understand various techniques and the subtle influences upon the process. "Brewing is simple" they say, compared to what, drinking it? I'd have to disagree, I've found it takes an understanding of several more aspects which the back of a beginners brew kit doesn't let on. I would have found the following beginners tips useful:

- Before pitching yeast gradually bring your fermentor up to volume and temp by alternating the hot and cold water, don't pour in the 4 litres of hot then pour in 19 odd of cold expecting the tins directions to be accurate. This will prevent you being caught standing there with a tub full of 35 degree fluid on a hot summers day wondering how your packet of funny faces would go to cool it down.

- Careful screwing on the lid of the fermentor, if it's cross threaded then you won't get a seal and you'll curse the fact you have no bubbles in the airlock and accuse your yeast of being lazier than a first year uni student.

- Make sure the boiled sterile water is cool before cleaning you gear, boiling hot water tends to break the plastic items and shrivel your bottle brush to something resembling a pretzel stick.

- When using the can opener on your kit don't leave the lid open yet attached by the last sliver of tin like you see on all the wholesome cat food adverts, the lid tends to break off and fall into your fermentor or whatever boiling hot vessel you've used. Fishing it out leads to permanent scaring.