My AG setup.

H0U5ECAT

Rather than setting up a few more threads asking about parts, pieces, connection etc... Thought I may just start my own thread so we can all join me on my progression of building an AG setup.

So, after graduating from University of YouTube, hundreds of wasted lunch times reading forums and Google searches, I'm opting for a Rims setup.

The setup of controls are electrical panels seemed a little daunting for a herms setup, but if I get a little more cluey with a Rims, I may step up to a herms. If I feel like it.

I've obtained a 50 ltr fibreglass esky for my mash tun and 2 kegs for my hlt and kettle.
The kegs I'll be pimping up shortly. Stay tuned for pics.

Can anyone give me their preferences with element sticks?
Thinking about setting up my kettle with a 3000w stick to reach boiling point quick.
Check this one...
URL: http://pages.ebay.com/link/?nav=item.view&id=391191791786&alt=web
Or should I settle for this one
URL: http://pages.ebay.com/link/?nav=item.view&id=331599285981&alt=web

I've seen the videos posted by brewers hardware on YouTube, and really like the finishes they have come up with for all their housings and cleaning capabilities.

Bring on the weekend for more tinkering in the shed

Not a sparky, but what's the go with the 6-pole element? what is the point in that or is it just fabricated out of 3x 2-pole elements so you can jumper your active/neutrals off that?

I did a bit of research into elements recently and went 5-star in my pots. For my RIMS there was already a still dragon RIMS tube with Incoloy element so I've stuck that that (http://www.stilldragon.com.au/2400-watt-element-ultra-low-density/). They have special on 3600W price by looks of it here http://www.stilldragon.com.au/3600-watt-element-special-runout-low-density/

The big one has each element piggy backed on one another.
I thought about stripping it down to two elements on one power supply, then the last on its own.
Kinda like a two step heating element. All three to bring it up to the boil, then one to keep it on the boil.
But the hole it will need to fit in the kettle will be 40mm.
Is that going to give me any issues keeping a tight seal on a weldless fitting on the keg?

A productive day in the shed.
Kegs are polished and ready for phase 2.
Here's an image of the second one half way through.

Kettles polished.

Sans apprentice today. Only had the chance to make the top of my trellis and dig the post holes.
I'll get the posts cemented in during the week and then raise the roof for my hop garden.

How is the hop garden coming along mate?

Not too shabby.
Dug and concreted the posts in, over the weekend.
Next will to be pave and drop the garden bed in.

Finally planted the cascade hop rizhome I got from nathanvonbeerstien.
Been in the ground for just on two weeks now and I've got three new shoots sticking their heads up today.

Sorry for the low lighting, kinda a bit darknin the backyard.