Morgans Dark Ale - Grain Suggestions?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

roosiecharm

Reaction score
Hi all,

Looking at putting down another Morgans Dark Ale in the coming weeks - just fishing for some suggestions as to what grain I should steep to accompany the kit? If you could also recommend amounts etc for a 23L batch? I'm new to this whole thing.

Some hops suggestions would be appreciated too. Haven't got a real fussy taste, I'll try anything and probably like it!

Cheers,

One thread should be enough. Bump it if you need some answers - don't start a new one.

http://www.aussiehomebrewer.com/forum/inde...showtopic=45370

That said - have you made this kit before? Do you know what you want from it? What is lacking? What commercial brew you think has characteristics you want to emulate?

I could easily say (for example) use 100g crystal and 50 g choc but it wouldn't mean anything until we know what you're aiming for.

One thread should be enough. Bump it if you need some answers - don't start a new one.

http://www.aussiehomebrewer.com/forum/inde...showtopic=45370

That said - have you made this kit before? Do you know what you want from it? What is lacking? What commercial brew you think has characteristics you want to emulate?

I could easily say (for example) use 100g crystal and 50 g choc but it wouldn't mean anything until we know what you're aiming for.

Not really - my mate brewed a nice one of these Morgans kts without extra hops/grain, but I thought a bit of extra flavour would be good - being new to brewing not exactly sure what sort of flavours could be fused, or which grains/hops to add, but thought some suggestions from people who have played around with dark ales before might give me some inspiration?