Maximum Conditioning Temp

govorko1974

Gidday all, was just wondering what you all reckon is the maximum temp to condition my bottled brew at...have read alot on here of people having trouble with bootles getting to cold but up here in FNQ we dont have that problem...for my previous 4 brews have put the bottled beer into an old fridge and kept the temp a couple of degrees higher than what i fermented at..this time due to a shortage of beer i put another brew down as soon as i bottled the previous and my fridge does not have room for fermenter and 30 bottles so have put them in coolest room in the wardrobe and the temp at the moment is 27.6 deg...am a bit concerned that this may be to hot for them...has anyone conditioned bottles at higher temps than this and if so does it effect the taste of them
Cheeers
Matt

Gidday. She'll be right mate. If you fermented at that deg that would be a different story. Only problem that MAY occur at higher temps is a random bottle bomb...MAYBE. Don't panic if you primed etc within normal limits. With the amount of fermenting going on for carbing no odd flavors will occur. At least that is my understanding of it all. Of course it is better to keep the bottles around ferment temp or a bit higher to carb up but hey, we can only do the best with what we got.

Enjoy your carbed up beer a bit earlier now the temp is a tad higher :) If you can handle it, leave 'em for 4 weeks to mature a little if you didn't cold condition :)

They will age faster at that temp, if you finish them off quickly it shouldn't be too much of a problem. But for long term storage you want to get it lower, say ~10c, and preferably stable as temp fluctuations aren't good.

Gidday all, was just wondering what you all reckon is the maximum temp to condition my bottled brew at...have read alot on here of people having trouble with bootles getting to cold but up here in FNQ we dont have that problem...for my previous 4 brews have put the bottled beer into an old fridge and kept the temp a couple of degrees higher than what i fermented at..this time due to a shortage of beer i put another brew down as soon as i bottled the previous and my fridge does not have room for fermenter and 30 bottles so have put them in coolest room in the wardrobe and the temp at the moment is 27.6 deg...am a bit concerned that this may be to hot for them...has anyone conditioned bottles at higher temps than this and if so does it effect the taste of them
Cheeers
Matt

I always try and condition at the same temp as fermenting, but have conditioned much higher. As stated before, the only thing that really happens is that they will carb a little quicker at higher temps, shouldn't really effect the taste. Of course, try and maintain some type of temp ranges otherwise you lose the consistency of your brewing and carbibg process, so even if you need to carb at sightly higher temps try and keep this maintained and the same for all your bottles.

I store all my beers at ambient temperature here because I don't have space in my ferment fridge.
They usually carb up after 4 days and clear and ready to drink in 14.
Cannot comment on long time storage though as they are usually all gone by month 1 or 2.

I to have the same problem of them not lasting...had a mate who told me his 9 month old pilsner was fantastic....i said how the f$#k did you not drink any for 9 months...the longest mine have lasted is 3 months