Low Carb Coopers Pale Ale - Malt Or Dextrose?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bremmario

Reaction score
I'm running out of beer and it's time for a new brew.

I'm fairly new to the game but I'm lovin' the steady supply of 25c beers. So far I've brewed all coopers concentrate kits - draught, lager and a few pales.

I've decided I need to lose some weight though but at the same time I refuse to stop drinking beer, I'm sure you all know what I'm talkin' about!

I have the following ingredients:

coopers pale concentrate kit
20kg light dry malt extract
25kg dextrose
packet of dry enzyme

1. What sugar will work best and how much? If I use malt instead of dextrose will it be any tastier or will it just be a waste of malt?

2. Furthermore, how much sugar will I need? The brew store guy told me 500g of 'sugar' as the enzyme will allow the yeast to eat up the more complex sugars, but I forgot to ask about malt vs dextrose.

3. Is 1 gram of light dry malt extract equivalent to 1 gram of dextrose in terms of fermentability?

4. I bottle ferment, will the dry enzyme mean that I need to put less sugar in each bottle or risk over carbonation/bottle bombs?

5. Would it be worthwhile investing in a hops teabag for this brew?

PM Sully for his "All Ranga Ale" recipe.. :chug:

I think its Can of Coopers Draught and 10kg of Dex and 2ltrs of lemon juice from woolies and a used tampon.. Ferment at 50degrees.. :super:

Chappo

coopers pale concentrate kit
25kg dextrose
packet of dry enzyme