Lost a few batches already to what I think is astringency. Is my Coron

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Look at were you are brewing.
Infection can live in porous surfaces and when disturbed float on dust particials,as the brew cools it will condense and draw in air (and the dust particials)
Starsan ect but the surface tention of the liquid will not let it get to the bottom of scratches and when conditions are favorable the infection can bloom. If you are using plastic as suggested in other posts toss the cube.
Partrs of your setup can store nasties. If you have valves pull them appart,i spent money on sanitary valves,pulled them appart and they had crap inside.Threads are bad, they trap crap in the bottom of the v.
I'm not sure how efective no rinse sanitizers are on wild yeast strains.
I have little experience, this is my 15th brew and of the first 10 lost half.
Anything that would fit was disassembled and put in the pressure cooker for 30min (ihave read some spores can surive boiling water)
Other stuff went in the oven over night. I bleach the daylights out of the brew area and keep it damp with bleach solution untill the brew is safe in the fermentor,I figure if it's wet it can't make dust and transport nasties. Bleach my brew stuff, rince in fresh water then starsan. Don't forget to rinse as chlorine (bleach ) +acid (starsan)=chlorine gas (was used in WW1 as a chemical weapon )
A good starter helps by out breading nasties. Brews that take 2,3 days to take of are inviting infection to get a foot hold.
I also started fermenting in glass . Don't know if it helps, but it's sure is cool watching the ferment churn and being able to watch the process.
Feel free to contradict any of this as I'm more than happy to learn and don't want others put on the wrong path.
Cheers
Kev