Loss Of Water In Airlock

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brewlord

Reaction score
Guys,

I am new to brewing and have just started a batch of Coopers Real Ale using closed brewing. I mixed and cleaned in accordance with directions and started the wort at the top end of temps (28-32 deg C). Later I noticed the content bubbling and foaming (normal I guess) and then overnight the content of the airlock were ejcted and so was some of the wort. I quickly refilled the airlock with cooled boiled water and the brew continued to bubble for the rest of the day. The last brew I made was no where near as active but brewed perfectly.

My question from those of you more experinced is that is the brew recoverable in this case or a lost cause? Th epresence of significant CO2 after this incident leads me to believe that its all Okay as this may have stopped any nasties but I wouldnt mind a few other opinions.

Brewlord

:(

At this stage I don't think you should worry as it will probably be OK. If the fermentation is that active then yes, the evolving CO2 will help to keep nasties out.

Minimise the amount of handling you do, use preboiled water and just keep topping it up if it blows out.

You may want to lower the starting temperature a bit in the future. I am assuming you're using the yeast that came with the kit and you can probably start everything a bit cooler, maybe 20 - 22C. A higher temperature will increase the rate of fermentation but can also produce a very estery (fruity) flavour profile. It can also produce some higher order alcohols called fusels that are known to accentuate hangovers (or at least with me they do :p ).