Light Malt Extract

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bluejed

Reaction score
Hi all,
I am relatively new to brewing, attempted a few years ago but lost interest due to inconsistant and poor procedures, I am about to put down a brew with Coopers Real Ale and 100% dry light malt. I have read that dry malt should be boiled prior to adding, is this recommended and what effect would this have on the brew?

Additionally would 1KG of Malt be suitable or do I need to substitue with some Dextrose, I do have some Hops (not sure what kind) if this helps?

Thanks..

I usually dissolve the DME in hot water because is easier, and then boil for a couple of minutes. This would not affect your beer. I also read that you must boil it to kill the nasties but not sure about that (I still do it anyway) - perhaps someone else can comment on that.

I rather go all the way DME for an ale, and use some dextrose if you run out of DME and want to increase the alc %.

I also read that you must boil it to kill the nasties but not sure about that (I still do it anyway) - perhaps someone else can comment on that.

Ive never boiled DME, and never had an infection using DME.

That's not to say that it cant happen - maybe Ive just been lucky.

I'd be super surprised if anyone got an infection from not boiling Dried malt extract straight from the packet.

The reasons for boiling to my mind are:

-helps dissolve the malt and avoid clumps. Clumps will dissolve in the brew later but may give false gravity readings until they do.

-helps up gravity if adding hops to a boil. Hop extraction is supposedly better at around 1040 from what I've heard and that requires something other than water.