Legal Kegs In Perth

HLT ?? Hot Lauter Tun is that right.

Are you looking at buying one
LJStuart has them the cheapest i could find anywhere

I will see if I can get anymore. They were off-shore kegs and no, not knocked off from outside a pub.

Looks like the stockpot option for me.

I'm going to go the gas option for boiling.

The kegs that are pictured in the various set ups look the goods, but I don't want to fall foul of the law.

I should add "and within the law" to the quotation in my sig. B)

/off-topic
A beer delivery truck drove up a friends street, (very steep hill) and the rear cage of the truck opened up and 10 or so empty kegs came rolling down the hill and landed in their front yard and were sitting there for around 18 months. After calling the pub the delivery driver was heading to they, said thanks and someone would come collect them soon.. several months past and they were still on their front lawn making the place look like crap so they asked if I wanted them and I gave the obvious answer.

So if this is property of a brewery than why can't they be charged for illegal dumping? They claim they still own the keg then what is it doing laying around on a friends front lawn for months on end?

It was just lucky no one was hurt or nothing was damaged with the kegs rolling down the hill.

Archie said:
HLT ?? Hot Lauter Tun is that right.

Are you looking at buying one
LJStuart has them the cheapest i could find anywhere
[post="128020"][/post]​

HLT = Hot Liquor Tank. Its the thing you heat your mash and sparge water in.

Re the cheapest places to buy ali stock pots, the cheapest I have found so far is this place:

www.kenscom.com.au

A few prices of their ali stock pots are:

40L Ali pot: $58

50L Ali pot: $65

60L Ali pot: $73

80L Ali pot: $89

And by the way, they are not some dodgy thin walled thing - they are the 4mm thick Robinox pots. Awesome pices I reckon. I helped a mate build an AG system and he got a 30L for his HLT and a 50L for his kettle. Neat little setup and cheap as chips! They are an online job too (like allquip) and I don't know what the postage would be to WA. Worth enquiring about though - at these prices it might still be well worth it.

How to compromise your principles with two phone calls. :D

Just went to visit a mate and told him about my proposed AG setup.

"Hang on a minute" says he. Out to the shed we go, move a bit of junk and there it was...a 50litre keg.

"Found it on the side of the road about six years ago"

Not only that, he knew someone else who had one. His kids had fished it out of the inlet nearby. Dropped by his house on the way home.

So there you have it. Two hours later and I've got two kegs. Now I'm going to break the law. (But you guys don't want to know that)

Thanks, Vlad

Now all I have to do is modify them. I've seen heaps of info, so shouldn't be too traumatic.

Oh, fell off the back of a truck, riiiiiiight

Was Elvis there watching, and were there any pink elephants involved?

MikaLika - The delivery cost for the pots from Allquip is around $15. The prices that TD gave from kencomm are far better than allquip but kencomm doesn't do the stainless steel pots.

PP

PistolPatch said:
MikaLika - The delivery cost for the pots from Allquip is around $15. The prices that TD gave from kencomm are far better than allquip but kencomm doesn't do the stainless steel pots.

PP
[post="128193"][/post]​

The stainless pots are there at Ken's Commercial Kitchens, they are just deep within one of the other categories - God only knows why! Try page 28 onwards in the "Gastronorm pots and pans" category. Still pretty cheap - 70L is $185. Those prices are excluding GST though, I only realised that yesterday!! Having said that, I think allquip's prices are also less GST. I have no idea what postage is form the Ken's place.

muga said:
/off-topic
A beer delivery truck drove up a friends street, (very steep hill) and the rear cage of the truck opened up and 10 or so empty kegs came rolling down the hill and landed in their front yard and were sitting there for around 18 months.
[post="128026"][/post]​

It's raining kegs!

Check with Gibson and Patterson in Osborne Park for stock pot prices. I paid $114 for a 36L stainless Robinox.

mika_lika said:
Does anyone in Perth do the Aluminium Robinox pots ?
Even @ $250, it's more than I really wanted to pay.
Sorry for the highjack.
[post="127838"][/post]​

Mika thought you might wanna know - I picked up a 22L stainless steel stockie in Gone Bizarre (no connection to me - honest!) for $50. They were meant to go out at $60 so I brass necked it a bit and asked if they'd reduce it cause it was slightly damaged - there was a big scratch on the outside of it - hehe and got it for $50.

Now I know its probly not going to be as thick as a Robinox etc - but all I want to do is try my first ag, and I just wanted to get some gear to give it a go without spending the earth (yet!). So if anyone else wants a cheaper pot to try it out, from what I have seen all the GB's have got 'em.

I find it rather rewarding knowing that I'm making better beer than the majors ever will in what was once there's.....

Thanks for the reply PP.

T.D. - Might have to try Kens Kitchen, see what I can find.

Thunderleg - Thanks for the option, but from what I've seen, I should be able to get a ~80L ally pot for that price, which seems to be good value for money.

Bizarre - I've got an el-cheapo 11.5L stock pot from Big W, but it's a real thin base and I'd be worried about the brew sticking.

Cheers for the reply's guys.

i tried to get some kegs from several breweries, but was told that because they are a pressure vessel and come under the food/beverage act any damaged kegs are destroyed. when i said i would basically be destroying them by cutting part of the top off,the answer was still, no can do sorry.

Tested the waters at Kens and went all the way to checkout. Total for the 70Ltr Staino pot was $206.80 :huh:
Pot=$185, Normal Post=$3, GST on that=$18.80.

And that's inlcuding the lid
I think I may have been swayed to go Stainless :D

Postage for airfeight is only $10, so don't know where they're getting their postage costs from, but works for me.

That's a great price Mika. Purchased my 70lt Robinox the day before the Ken post above. It was $250 delivered. If you want to save money on your purchases, just wait unitl the day after I buy something. It seems to be a recurring theme. ;)

There is an auctioneer on the corner of Kurnall road & Orong road in Welshpool that must have a couple of hundred, you'll see them on pellets as you come into Kurnall road on the left, might be worth checking out!
Hillbilly. :party: