Learning

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pist n broke

Reaction score
howdy... Trying to learn how to make better beer... I have 3 attempts and all of them have failed... The carbonation is what is failing...

Not enough carbonation ? Too much ? need a bit more info .

Kegged? Bottled? How? Recipe? Carbonation method?

There’s loads here who will help but give us more than ‘why is my piece of string so long’?

When I started brewing and packaging in bottles I used one teaspoon of sugar in each 500 ml bottle . When I bulk primed I use dextrose and weigh it . Carbonation depends on the style of beer and what you like eg high carbonation or lower carbonation like Manticle does . I like to use around 130 - 140 gms of dextrose for my pales ( bulk priming : tip in your priming sugar into some water and boil lt cool a lttle tip it into a sanitised fermenter and gently pour the beer into the sanitised fermnter and package from there) .

I bought mangrove jack tins and followed the instructions and after a week and ft was about 990 i bottles it in 750 ml glass bottles with flip latch lock lids (recommended by brew shop) and dropped 3 carb tablets in.... Waited for 2 weeks then in the fridge for few days and four. Thr beer to be clear and taste was not bad but carbonation was terrible.., tasted flat after about 1 minute.

Does it pour foamy? Might need a lower temp in the fridge.
I also generally leave any bottled beer I brew for at least a month before drinking which may or may not make a difference to carbonation.
Make sure your beer is protected from light and high/low temps as well.

. Waited for 2 weeks
Were you able to keep a stable temperature after bottling, any sudden drop?
Also the new bottles may have still had some factory gunk that required a really good clean. But I'm guessing you did that.