Lager Recipe Advice

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dave_h

Reaction score
Im planning on putting down my second all grain tomorrow and wouldnt mind a second opinion on my recipe.

5kg of Pilsner

1kg of Vienna

Mash for 90 mins

30g of Tettnanger for 60mins

30g of Hallertau for 20mins

Ive also got Saaz hops available but I dont want to mix too many hops as im new to their flavours and want to learn what they taste like, so I may even be tempted to go with only one hop.

As for yeast im planning on trying a Wyeast (1st time) maybe a German or Belgian as I like the Euro lagers.

Any thoughts?

Good on you for sticking with it - the 2nd and 3rd are really a tipping point, kinda like smoking i guess :)

If you aren't already then mash that around 65C to get it dry-ish. Recipe looks fine, do you have a brewing calculator to work out the IBU level from the hops? From my completely guessed calcs it looks about 30IBU, more if the Tett has a decent AA level to it ( > 5%)

I'd personally just use Hallertau and don't use the Tett on the first go, feel free to add some saaz but one hop will be fine.

Yeast wise for a german pils or euro pils you don't want anything Belgian as virtually all the Belgian strains are ale yeasts, you want to go with pretty much any lager yeast, for versatility in batches you could go the Wyeast 2487 Hella Bock (same as WLP833) which is a special strain at the moment, 2042 Danish, 2124 Bohemian (actually W34/70) or many other choices.