Keg With No Pressure Release Valve

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

binoose

Reaction score
Hello,

I am new to kegging and waiting for two pin-lock kegs to arrive in the post..
However I realised after buying them that these kegs do not have a pressure release valve.. (i didnt know what a pressure release valve was then)

I was told that I can use a disconnect or a screwdriver to depress the gas-in port. Do you think this is an ok solution ?
I am worried that by doing so beer will enter the gas-in port and then later on the gas line.
Is this a problem ? Is it going to be a pain to use kegs with no pressure release valve ?

Thanks!

The pressure release valve only releases automatically as a last resort when the keg itself is at risk of rupturing (800kPa+) and so will not stop beer from going out the gas line (a one-way John Guest fitting in your beer line will stop that) cos beer is carbonated at much lower levels (~100kPa). It is also there for you to be able to manually release pressure.

Beer does not generally go out the gas-in connection and up the gas line as beer will probably sit below the gas-in dip-tube. If you have a really over-carbonated keg and you connect the gas-line when the gas regulator is set to a very low level then there is a slight possibility of beer going up the gas-line (has happened on occasion with my set-up) but, like I say, the beer usually sits below the level of the gas-in dip-tube.

Is there a spot on the lid itself for a pressure-release valve? Is it a corny keg? If it is a corny you can always buy another lid with a pressure-release valve for about $25?

Thanks for the help, here are some pics of the kegs
are these standard cornelius? the seller said they were coca cola kegs

cheers

got a picture of it for us?

keg1.JPG

keg2.JPG

keg3.JPG