Its Time For Kegs.

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Prawned

Reaction score
Well i have been making K&K homebrew for a few years now, and it is really starting to taste great! I think i can finally get into kegs! I have so many bottles that i just dont want to clean anymore, its making me just not brew.. The thing is i have no clue on kegs and setups etc.. I have the one fridge that i use for temp controlled fermenting which im guessing i will have to double as the keg fridge untill i have the cash for another fridge.. Just got a few questions i guess..

Is it pretty easy to setup kegs?

Can i carbonate my beer in the kegs without forced carbonation? (just in a cool dark place with sugar??)

Where is the cheapest place to buy a setup? (without gas bottle, buying that when the first brew is ready for the kegs)

Tap or Beer gun? Not sure which to go with here, tap looks alot better though.

What kind of bar fridge or freezer will fit 3+ kegs in it? and not cost an arm and leg (Looking at buying a brand new one for kegs sometime soon)

I have been trying to read up as much as i could in the last few days, but still dont know how to go about doing all of this lol

1.yes easy to set up kegs
2.yes.just treat your keg as a 19lt long neck
3.I'd go http://www.craftbrewer.com.au/ and talk with Ross
4.I first bought a pluto,have 4 TAPS now and a pluto
5.Have 1/300lt freezer,1/120lt bar fridge(yeast,hops and glasses),1 old fermentation fridge,and another full sized fridge for incidentals :p

I'm trying pretty hard now to mesh and streamline everything,it's not working ;)