Is It Worth Buying A Heater Pad? My Cider Wont Ferment!

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lukemarsh

Reaction score
I've had no troubles brewing ales before as I started brewing around christmas this year so it has been warm enough for the yeast. I brew in my underground cellar which stays at a constant 21 - 22 degrees C. Now it's just hitting winter it's at around 18 degrees C, which is undesirable for, well, anything! Because you need under 15 for lagers (I use my old fridge) and above 18 for ales. So generally speaking, I'm a bit screwed at the moment.

I've looked into various ways to heat my fermenter and it appears that the only easy and safe way to do so is buying a heat pad or belt. These cost between $50 and $65 from my local HBS.

Is it worth paying that much to keep your brew heated through winter or are these gadgets just a waste of time and money? I've got a cider going that I brewed Saturday and it's sitting at 18 degrees, and hasn't bubbled or formed much condensation under the lid yet. If I need a heat pad or belt I'd like to get one tomorrow so I can get this cider going, I was just hoping someone could either give me reason to invest in one or convince me not to and offer a cheaper/more effective means of brew heating.

Cheers!

Your conditions sound pretty much spot on for most ale yeasts to me.

You don't mention what yeast you're using for your cider. I can't think of any off the top of my head that would be dead asleep at 18c. And trust not yon duplicitous bubbler. Take a gravity reading to check for fermentation.

I'd suggest that a heat pad or similar might pretty much be an essential bit of kit for winter brewing in Adelaide. Just read up on how to use it without stuffing your brew.