Im New At This

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WHYPSI

Reaction score
hi all. decided to finally start home brewing.

bought my kit yesterday from The Country Brewer in girraween. looking forward to starting the brew tomorrow.

im making a coopers pale ale style brew. if anyone has any tips id love to hear them.

i know to sanitize alot, and to ferment at 20 deg. bit unsure how to maintain a constant temp though

cheers Pete :)

Not necessarily a lot - just properly. check this link for a rundown on different sanitisers and how to use them: http://www.aussiehomebrewer.com/forum/inde...;showarticle=18

Also cleaning bottles: http://www.aussiehomebrewer.com/forum/inde...;showarticle=29

One more useful link: http://www.aussiehomebrewer.com/forum/inde...;showarticle=13

Maintaining a constant temp without automated temp control just takes a bit of care. Depending on where you live and what the ambient temps are at the moment, you may find outside, off the ground will maintain a reasonable 18-20 deg. If you can bring your brew inside and have a spot in the house that sits around 20 that might work too. Otherwise utilise a laundry sink. To keep a brew cooler throw in ice bricks or better - frozen juice or soft drink bottles (fill with water and freeze) Adjust as necessary. If the brew is getting too cold use warm water in the sink or buy a brew belt heater from k-mart. Alternatively just wrap the fermenter in blankets, an old doona or old towels.