Ideas Please

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bruce86

Reaction score
Hi im a newbie litterly just started my first brew today (the one in the starter kit) but im wanting to really get a Leffe Brun style one going and was wondering the best way to go about it. Do i find a kit one or do u guys have other ideas? cheers. :D

Have not tried this so I cant say how good it is and I must say it is quite different to any extract/grain recipes I have seen, but might be worth a try.

Muntons Continental Lager
1.5kg Pale Liquid Malt
500g Liquid Glucose
25g Saaz Hop Pellets
250g Chocolate Grain (cracked), in a grain bag.
Safale Yeast...I would replace with a good belgian yeast...wyeast or white labs or dry, whatever you can get.
Heat 2 litres of water up to 65 degrees, add the grain and steep for 20 minutes. Remove grain bag and bring to the boil, add the malt and glucose and stir till dissolved. Add hops, simmer for 1 minute then strain into fermenter with can of lager. Top up to 21 litres, add yeast and brew in the normal way.
* From the recipe pages of Daves Home Brew, a man I believe brews a good drop, so you might be ok.

if your happy to go extract/partial enter 'leffe brun clone' in a google search, a couple of recipes there to try.

Have not tried this so I cant say how good it is and I must say it is quite different to any extract/grain recipes I have seen, but might be worth a try.

1.5kg Pale Liquid Malt
500g Liquid Glucose
25g Saaz Hop Pellets
Safale Yeast
Heat 2 litres of water up to 65 degrees, add the grain and steep for 20 minutes. Remove grain bag and bring to the boil, add the malt and glucose and stir till dissolved. Add hops, simmer for 1 minute then strain into fermenter with can of lager. Top up to 21 litres, add yeast and brew in the normal way.