Howdy from Melbournes Northern Suburbs!

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pongo

Reaction score
[SIZE=12pt]Hey Folks![/SIZE]

[SIZE=12pt]Just getting back into brewing after a long hiatus. So... an introduction![/SIZE]

[SIZE=12pt]Under the tutelage of a family member I started brewing in uni - it was a great way to enjoy a bottle of suds whilst keeping the costs down. My setup was (and still is) pretty basic - 30 litre drum, immersion heater, one of those nice lever arm cappers. I was encouraged to use white sugar for my brews but after a few batches I began to wander to dextrose and malt.[/SIZE]

[SIZE=12pt]__________________[/SIZE]
[SIZE=12pt]Story Time![/SIZE]
[SIZE=12pt]~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~[/SIZE]

[SIZE=12pt]My local brew shop was Grain and Grape (originally in Footscray and now in a very nice little warehouse in Yarraville). Great store but I've found the support there a little lacking... My first and only foray into hopping my beer involved being sold a hopps bag and being told to boil the hops in bag. The bag didn't synch close and as a result I felt I needed to set it up in such a way that the hopps wouldn't leak out. I subsequently set the hopps bag on fire...[/SIZE]

[SIZE=12pt]I managed to save the hopps but, to be honest, I couldn't tell the difference in the brew.[/SIZE]

[SIZE=12pt]_______________________[/SIZE]
[SIZE=12pt]Which Brings me to Now![/SIZE]
[SIZE=12pt]~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~[/SIZE]

[SIZE=12pt]Several years back I moved suburb, lost the space to brew and as a result, the kit was stowed under the house... I came very close to selling it off a few times but never did. There is sat, dormant... waiting... biding its time...[/SIZE]