Hopping techniques.

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jackgym

Reaction score
Hi brewers,

I'm only brewing from the Cooper's kits at the moment and adding extra hops.

Can you explain the different hop effects according to when/how they are added?

For instance, will I get the best hop effect if I steep them in boiling water and add them to the wort at the beginning? Or will I get a better effect if I dry hop for 4-5 days after ferm. has ceased?

When I started brewing I bought a book...Brewing Crafts, this gives you the kind of information that you are seeking.
You ask the question about hopping effects,this is like describing the taste of Caviar or Oysters to someone who has never tried either.
No one can advise you on this,you have to suck it and see !
Take one of your prefered commercial beers,look this up in the book that I have recommended and brew accordingly,adjust to your taste the next time you brew.

nala said:
When I started brewing I bought a book...Brewing Crafts, this gives you the kind of information that you are seeking.
You ask the question about hopping effects,this is like describing the taste of Caviar or Oysters to someone who has never tried either.
No one can advise you on this,you have to suck it and see !
Take one of your prefered commercial beers,look this up in the book that I have recommended and brew accordingly,adjust to your taste the next time you brew.
I need to explain further. Let's take Nelson Sauvin hops which give off a citrusy and fruity smell and flavour.
Will I get more flavour and value from adding them at the beginning or dry hop them after fermentation?

Dry hopping,the amount is up to you...2 grams per litre to 5 grams per litre.

jackgym said:
I need to explain further. Let's take Nelson Sauvin hops which give off a citrusy and fruity smell and flavour.