Hi from a POM in Dubbo

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AndyRosy

Reaction score
Hi there,
I'm Andy and I'm relatively new to Australia(two years now) and very new to home brewing. After getting over the shock of the cost of beer here I've started brewing my own under the guidance of a work friend.

I was a member of CAMRA in the UK since I was 18 so I love my beer (I'm 47 now) I've been surprised by my totally drinkable home brew so far but have been experiencing the odd problem caused by the heat out here (NSW Western Plains) so I thought I'd seek some advice from this forum.

So please be gentle with me!!

Andy

Hi Andy

Welcome to the forum. Last time I was in Dubbo it was freezing. :p As you'd appreciate you would do well to invest in some temperature control, dedicated brew fridge and temperature controller.. Plenty of advice on the forum.

Are you brewing kits, partials? I'm also a Pom (Geordie originally) and a CAMRA member of old. One of the reasons I went into All Grain brewing was to replicate the Real Ales of my old home. Good news is that all the ingredients are available in Australia such as UK hops and yeast strains and grains from UK Maltsters. One of the benefits of globlisation I guess. Just add local water.

30 min esb.jpg

Dubbo is a fair hike transport wise, I realise.

Welcome to the forum Andy, ask away mate... Plenty of good advice to be gained from here.
As Bribie said, temp control for fermentation is considered a necessity for most parts of this country unless you have the luxury of a cellar or have an area which will remain a constant temperature during fermentation.

Cheers and welcome

Christ man, what did you do in the Home Land to be exiled to Dubbo of all places? :lol: No offence to Dubbonians meant.