Hi all, I just joined and here's my story

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wardcliff

Reaction score
I am on the NSW South Coast.

I am a relative newbie to the art of home brewing, however, not nearly so new at drinking beer, or spirits ... or fortified wines ........ or dessert wines. Wine, not so much, unless there is nothing else available, and usually even then it has to be free. If I wanted that red wine taste, I could just go and lick the carpet.

I know that sounds excessive, but my younger days of binging are over, now I just drink more often. That way it's not bingeing, right? These days I just love to enjoy a few cold beers, and especially at home brew prices.

Anyway, I've made 5 or 6 home brew batches in the past, all from tins. I have only been bottling, with carbonation drops up to this point. I have had mixed success with carbonation and particularly head retention when pouring. (This has not impacted on the drinkability though).

I have just ordered a 23L keg and associated lines and fittings, which should arrive in the next week or so. I just picked up a new 6L CO2 bottle from my home brew supplier. I am ready to venture into the unknown world of home kegging. I am keeping 30 bottles for the odd attempt at a ginger beer etc, but plan to keep a steady flow of liquid gold flowing through the front of my soon to be converted "beer fridge".

I plan to continue with tinned brews at least for the short term, with a view to changing things up a bit now and then flavour wise, via combining tins or adding flavours to the mix etc. I can't see myself brewing from scratch just yet, but maybe the time will come when I have the room and determination to go the whole hog.

I offer my thanks in advance for all your wisdom, and my apologies in advance for my lack thereof.