Hello from Adelaide!

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KitchenBrews

Reaction score
Hi all, last christmas my partner bought my a coopers home brew kit which sat in the corner gathering dust due to space restrictions. This has recently changed and last week I put down my first brew (the one that came with the kit). I stuffed up my gravity readings and bottled after 8 days in the wort.. seemed like a good enough day as any lol. They should be drinkable for new years, so exciting! Any way, I am hooked, I will be putting down the next one on the weekend and soon I hope to get another tub to have 2 on the go. As you can probably gather, I am a total noob to home brewing and I am looking forward to learning a lot from every one here!

Hi Kitchen brews.

In the immediate future, to help the quality of your kit brews:

1. Don't ferment at 25 degrees (or whatever). 20 degrees tops, but 18 degrees ideally. Those instructions are wrong. We don't know why they continue to print them.
2. If you're prepared to spend extra on yeast, it'll improve the quality of your beer, combined with #1.

I see you're in ADE and the weather is hot. Find a cooler spot in your house or wait until the weather settles back down again.

Did you bottle in PET bottles or glass? What was your fermentation temperature? 8 days should have been enough for the batch to finish fermenting. Beware of bottling too early in glass or you may have "bottle bombs" on your hands - shards of glass flying around is not a nice thing...

A couple of things all noobs should know:

1. Sanitisation is crucial. Be anal about this.
  2. Temperature control while fermenting - aim for 18 to 20 degrees - ignore the kit instructions that tell you to ferment higher. A search will give you some handy tips for keeing fermentation temps down in warmer weather.