Have I Stuffed Up?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wheels5

Reaction score
Hi guys

From what I am about to type, you can guess I am very new to the brewing game, in fact my 1st brew.

I have a Coopers Micro Brew kit. I was following all the instructons as well as a few from this forum. After 24 hours, i had no bubbles in the airlock....crap i thought. so to check I squeezed the fermenter. The water in the airlock rose and then to my astonishment some went into the fermenter.

Double crap!!1 as I seem to recall in previous threads that this is not good.

Could someone please advise whether I have cocked up.

btw. I have realised from other threads that not having a good seal is not as important a deal and my yeasy is fermenting as I have scum on the side and some condensation.

Brew is sitting on 20C.

Thanks in advance

Wheels5

Probably, but it will still produce beer. Only an issue if you had some major infection/bacteria in the water in the airlock. Not all that likely (though certainly probable) after 24hrs. Sit back, chill and see what happens.

I've had this happen too with no noticeable results, as long as the water was decent that went into the airlock I don't think there should be too much of a problem, especially if it is only beginning.

Thanks guys, was the same water that is in the brew, so hoping it is all ok.

This is why some people use sanitiser, or even cheap vodka in the airlock, I'd perhaps avoid bleach as even a small dose into your beer would be noticeable me thinks.

not the best thing to happen, but chances are nothing will come of it.

RDWHAHB :p

oh, and dont let it happen again!

This is why some people use sanitiser, or even cheap vodka in the airlock, I'd perhaps avoid bleach as even a small dose into your beer would be noticeable me thinks.