Have i over gassed? Can I fix it?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hodgo

Reaction score
Hi all, i believe i have over gassed my keg, its my first time so i wouldn't be surprised after reading other threads. I kegged my beer (Coopers Real Ale+one teabag cluster hops and dry enzyme) into a 50 litre one 2 days ago and charged with beer gas to about 250 kpa. Laid it down and rocked it for about 15 minutes and left it standing in the fridge for about 24 hours with reg set at 250kpa. It was about 12 deg C when put in the fridge. I know idealy i should have chilled first but read that later. I tried to poor it yesterday but got mostly foam. Dropped keg pressure to about 100kpa at which point it poors very slow but still got alot of foam. I dropped it to 70kpa and left at that pressure with gas turned off. It maintained that pressure over night. Today it pours a little better but still much foam.

Can an over gassed ged be rectified?

Also

The length of the beer line is about 4 metres long with 6mm id. i got from my local Geelong Home Brewing shop. I feel this might be a bit long tho not sure. Have seen some equations to calculate length but i am unsure of the restriction factor of this tubing.

If anyone can point me in the right direction , it would be great.
I'm getting thirsty

Cheers

Hey bud.
Been there and done that.

It may take a few goes, but easy fixed.
Just slowly purge the co2 from the release valve on the top of the keg until there's no or slight pressure coming out of it.
Let it rest for half hour.
Do it again.
Let it rest for half hour.
Tap it and fill with c02 at serving pressure and pour.
If it seems a little flat, check the guide on here for force carbonation.
If its still too gassy, purge again.

Then drink your beer

50l..