growing hops in QLD

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

seehuusen

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm new to brewing, but like super hoppy beers... I've got a missus with great green fingers, and would like to utilize her to grow me some hops ;)

The questions I've got is first and foremost, what rhizomes grow best in QLD? I'm on the Sunshine Coast, so SEQ...

The next question is, where can I possibly get some rhizomes from? Anyone around here that has some I could purchase?
I once got some from a fella which had been frozen, they didn't turn out to grow, so I'd prefer something non-frozen if possible :)

Thanks in advance,
Martin

There are various threads on here for hop rizhomes.

Hops will grow in QLD...but.

Hops are a cold climate plant. They need long cold winters to produce maximum yield. This why most hop farms are in Tasmania and the highlands of Victoria.

Rhizomes are not ready just yet, but keep an eye on the threads and get your name down.

Basically its a case of what you are offered, not what you want.

thanks mate, so basically, I'll get a crop, but it won't be as impressive as those further south... I can live with that :)

now, there is a seller on eBay from WA, who has a range of hops types, is there any that would suit QLD better than others?
I've read somewhere that Cascade is a bit more forgiving on the hotter weather, is that right?

Still keen to hear what people grow up this way with some success?
and if possible, if someone up this way would part way with a rhizome, when it's a good time of course :) When is that though?

Cheers
Martin

seehuusen said:
thanks mate, so basically, I'll get a crop, but it won't be as impressive as those further south... I can live with that :)