Grain Mill Purchase

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Sosman,
They put jarrah in mallet heads for a reason... it's very tough stuff!
Love your work, I don't think i could be bothered doing that good a job... eccentric adjustment, roller bearings, having a steel shaft through wood, and cutting wood on my good metal lathe, don't think so.
Glad to hear it's working well.

Personal I like to make all my own gear for my brewery, I am a fitter and Machinist by trade and make things like that all day however I could not make one for under $100. If I was to put a price on mine it would be $300 plus.
What I have read here $100 that cheap.

Stagger
:super:

Sos, how is the jarrah holding up? And how many kilos have you put through it now?

pint of lager said:
Sos, how is the jarrah holding up? And how many kilos have you put through it now?
[post="52873"][/post]​
I probably would have put through near 100kg of grain including wheat and roasted varieties. Holding up very well.

Dunkel_Boy said:
Love your work, I don't think i could be bothered doing that good a job... eccentric adjustment, roller bearings, having a steel shaft through wood, and cutting wood on my good metal lathe, don't think so.
Glad to hear it's working well.
[post="52844"][/post]​
Believe it or not, I figured the eccentric adjustment was the easiest to construct - I didn't even use the 4 jaw chuck, just a spacer on the one of the 3 jaws. The ball bearings were inexpensive, the length of Jarrah cost me $10, the Ally plate $5. A few dollars for bits of steel and nuts etc, probably cost me no more than $70 in materials.

The jarrah "swarf" was no problem to clean up from the lathe. In fact I am thinking of making a rest and buying a few wood working tools.

sosman said:
In fact I am thinking of making a rest and buying a few word working tools.