Ginger Beer Too Fast?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rabbitz

Reaction score
I have been lurking on the site for a little while and I am a little in awe of the collected knowledge here, so I am a little embarrassed to ask this...

I have currently got a GB in the fermenter

Morgans Tin 'o' goo
1Kg of Dextrose
Made up to 20 litres
Pitched yeast (the supplied packet) @ 25C
OG was 1.030
I've kept the wort (is it a wort for GB?) at between 20 & 26 but mostly around 22

So six days later the SG is 1.004

Is this drop in SG too fast?

As I have kept it warm I expected a quick ferment but this seems a little fast.

As you can no doubt tell I am a noob at this (this being my second brew) so be gentle :)

TIA
Rabz

6 days at that temperature range sounds about right. You'll probably find it may be a fair bit cloudy in appearance, but thats quite common for a ginger beer anyway.

Ta Muggus,

It just seemed a bit fast, although it tastes OK. It is a little cloudy but I am not too concerned about that, especially as the majority is destined to become 'Dark and Stormy's', so if it is a little darker and stormier it won't make much difference!

I will just watch the SG and if it has bottomed out I will bottle in a couple of days and see how it goes.

Rabz

I also am a n00b but have made around 5 ginger beers now
I absolutely love em!!!
my last one has just stopped fermenting today @ 1010 SG after 6 Days @ 22deg
I also pitched the yeast @ 25deg

All the gingers i have done have finished in around a week, taste bloody excellent!!
Tho i usually brew them @ 22deg i heard i should do it lower, but i only get a chance to bottle/brew on sundays so if i miss it it has to sit for another week!! thats another brew!