Galaxy Ale recipe

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

falcon250

Reaction score
G'day All,

I have put this recipe together with beersmith and am just wondering what else I can do with it, it consists of:

9 litre brew for corny keg
1 KG Light dry extract
300 G Dextrose
10G Galaxy for 60 mins
10G Galaxy for 15 mins
5G Galaxy for 5 mins
Dry hop with Pacific jade for 5 days
S05 yeast

Any opinions always appreciated as I'm fairly new to this extract style of brewing.

Cheers!

I would cut back to 30 min boil and go around 5g/5g/5g 30/20/10 (22ibu)?

and dry hop what ever you like.

To much Galaxy early can be a bit off putting to my palate. Any Galaxy brews I have done with smaller amounts and bittered to the 22 ibu have been nice. Get into them after 2 weeks conditioning.

Cheers

what does Beersmith says your opening gravity will be? Even thinking 9 litres, it looks like too little malt. Guessing 11litres of water needed if you are having a 60 min boil. With processed malt there is no need for a long boil anyway.

When I use Galaxy, I prefer not to give it a long boil. Strange things happen with Galaxy in the long boil. Best suited to late additions,to get the best of its flavours & aromas.

Fatgodzilla,

Beersmith estimated OG to be 1048 and estimated FG to be 1006, I think you might be right it does seem like not enough malt, Beersmith estimates alc % to be 5.5%.